Hidden Gem in Cadiz – Lakawon Island

I must say, I’ve only known about Lakawon Island last year. It was just something I dreamt  of going to until it became a reality.

Earlier last year, a college friend of mine told me that she was going to get married by November 2016. The catch was it’s going to be held in Bacolod! The boyfriend was a Negros native and they decided that it will be great to hold the wedding there. I found a seat sale in PAL and decided to book it right away.

Before I just wanted to go to Bacolod for the wedding. Or maybe just visit The Ruins or even make a visit to Don Bosco in Victorias. It was when my friend asked me if I will be visiting Lakawon Island, and then I remembered that I wanted to go! So I made plans and eventually, on the event, I found some other friends also willing to pay the Island a visit.

So my first visit was last November 2016 and returned just this January 2017. It was like a mandatory for me to revisit the place since I’ll be back in Bacolod. Here’s my thoughts about the place 🙂

Lakawon Island Resorts and Spa is an island of the coast of Brgy Cadiz Viejo in Cadiz, Negros Occidental. It’s a short drive from Bacolod (my friend got to drive it for 45mins only). For private cars, it won’t be hard for you to find it since Waze can already guide you. For commuters, I recommend below 🙂

If you’re coming from Bacolod, find a BATA-LIBERTAD jeep. This jeep will bring you to the North Bus Terminal. You may also want to ride this if you will go to The Ruins. Anyways, the jeepney will drop you off just at the entrance of the very beautiful bus terminal.

busterminal
North Bus Terminal

I must say, this is the best and most beautiful bus terminal in the Philippines I’ve ever been too. It’s organized and waiting areas are well equipped with benches. Anyways, just look for the bus with a Cadiz sign. Tell the conductor you’ll be going to Lakawon Island and they already know it. They will drop you there. Buses I think leave every 15mins so waiting time is not a problem at all. Bus fare costs 95pesos – one way.

When you’re already dropped off on the terminal of Cadiz, you would still need to ride a tricycle which seats up to 6 persons. Tricycle fare costs 120pesos which means, if you’re a group of six, it’s only 20pesos/pax. You know the math 😉  the tricycle will bring you to the port where you will pay for the entrance and the boat ride. Entrance + two way boat ride already cost 280pesos as of January 2017. You will be needing to sign your complete names, pay the fee, get your no. for the boat and get stamped. Most importantly, do not forget to get stamped before you go to the boats. Boat ride will be a max of 30mins but still depending on the waves.

Since the construction of the port in the island has not finished yet, you will be dropped directly at the beach. Once you get off the beach, go directly to the main office located at the tower you will see and pay for the cottage/room rents. You may opt for cottages only if it’s a day tour trip or, you may just pay for the entrance in Tawhai Floating bar and you may stay there for as long as you want. But of course, if you want to swim in the beach, you might want to have a place where you could place your bag.

Food, their restaurant might offer dishes a bit pricey but I must say, they’re delicious and one meal is good for 5pax I think. We ordered, fried chicken, adobong pusit, scallops!, rice, and a 1.5 sprite which only cost us like 700+. Knowing the cost, they immediately ordered another plate full of scallops. Who’s hungry? 😀 you may also opt to bring your own cooked or purchased food but they will charge you a food corkage. 50pesos per pax. I guess it’s reasonable enough. After eating, we rested a bit and we are on our way to Tawhai Floating Bar.

Tawhai Floating Bar is known to be the largest floating bar in Asia. There’s an entrance fee of 250pesos which already includes one drink. They have beach beds, hammocks, tables, chairs, cr, kitchen and a bar where you can literally just go party in the middle of the day.

One thing I wanted to do on my comeback was to jump from the 2nd floor of the boat. I was unable to do it on the first visit since I got all lazy and just wanted to rest the whole afternoon. So this time, I wanted to try. I was able to jump (awkwardly) once haha! I got all scared when you see the height of it. Here’s a screenshot of the video.

tawhai3

Anyways, I wanted to jump to prepare myself for my next adventure in Siquijor. Jusko, kaya ko kaya yun? XD

 

All in all, Lakawon Island did not to fail to satisfy my longing for the beach, fun and rest at the same time. Although, there’s still a lot of construction going on, Lakawon Island can already satisfy your adventurous soul. I would love to go back to this place. If Ii was living in Bacolod. I might even go here every pay day.

Leave a comment