I Found a Home in Boracay

Last July I spotted a seat sale in AirAsia and inmediately booked a flight to Kalibo. Wanted to visit Boracay Island on my own. And Boracay known to the many prestigious hotels and pricey inns and stays, I find it very hard to find a place that is of value to my money.

I went on to search for a Hostel for my quick visit. I bumped into MNL Beach Hostel and inquired. But I was hesitant to book it immediately since this one is located near Bulabog beach and about 5-10min walk to the beach. I searched through Hostels.com and found numerous hostels in Boracay. I came to find Second Wind Bed, Bunk and Breakfast and researched about it. Read comments from TripAdvisor and looked for its website. I immediately fell inlove with it and booked a private room for 1.4k through Agoda.

I arrived at Boracay, past 9PM and was immediately accommodated by their staff by the time I arrived. It was funny because the room assigned to me was Room No. 13. 13??? Anyways, nothing bad happen to me naman. Returned home safe and sound. hehe. The room was without tiles but it was acceptable since most would arrive wet from the beach. The room is clean and beautiful. I never thought my money would provide such beautiful amenities 😁

The hostel is about 3-4 minute walk from the beach. The passage way is that of across Crown Regency Prince Resort. The one near our favorite lugawan. It was indeed accessible. 

The bed was super comfortable, I understand the no comforter rule because this is a hostel. Hehe. There was a tv with cable, a safety box, a hair dryer and a beautiful mirror piece (i love it so much. Hehe). One amazing thing about the room is that it provides numerous sockets! My room has indeed 6 extra sockets. No need to bring a power extension chord for the charging of your gadgets.

Now let’s go to the bathroom.


The bathroom was indeed beautiful filled with modern facilities. The toilet has a bidet! oh my, a must for me! hehe. I’ve been to many hotels (not in boracay) that offers a bathroom without bidet. I mean, hello? You must at least provide a tabo. hehe. I loooooooooved the shower. I dream of this kind for my own future home. The shower came with a heater, although, the heater was I think not functioning well at that time. But no biggie, not really a fan of warm water. And, the hostel only provides a towel. They do not provide basic toiletries, so you have to buy/bring your own shampoo, soap etc. But who uses hotel shampoo and soap anyways? So this one is okay for me.

The one great thing that I admire with this hostel was their door. I also love the door! hehe. Another dream of mine for my own future home. The only thing that was bothering me was the lock for there were numerous times that I had struggles to lock and unlock it. One time, I thought I was stuck inside the bathroom. hehe. Panic mode for 10 secs =))

The room came in with a breakfast provided by the hostel. So every morning, they will prepare and cook eggs for you, just how you want it, sunny side up, scrambled or omelette. The egg comes with 2 toasted wheat breads which has a variety of spreads and a fruit (i had a mango). All of this you will enjoy in their common kitchen.

12038114_10153211171634503_6717011404145446243_n

12003978_10153211171759503_8802274195781996955_n
 The common kitchen has a refrigerator where you can keep your goodies. But since this is common, and is very much open and available to everyone else, you better put a name on your goods, for it might be taken. hehe. They also have almost all kitchen utilities you can use. Basically, if you wanted to cook, you can 🙂 the common kitchen also has a TV since there are also bunk beds in this place, those who are checked in there could use the space for their own leisure time.

I stayed in this place until 5PM since my flight wasn’t until 9:45 in the evening. Basic check out time is observed in this hostel, so all the hours after 12NN will cost 100 pesos/person/hour. If you are lucky, they will give you a discount 😉 (mine was discounted to 75pesos/hour).

All in all, I’d give the hostel an incredible 4 stars for my stay. I guess the only downside of the hostel is that, many many many vehicles pass by the road outside it and there is a school near it. So there were many students along the way.

I’d recommend this hostel to anyone for their visit to Boracay 🙂

Leave a comment